Passionate professionals committed to abolishing torture and supporting survivors on their journey to healing

Our Team

Our team of dedicated staff are experts in the field of trauma-informed care from various walks of life and professional backgrounds. We are united by our passion to protect and serve survivors, while supporting them on their journey to healing in a new land.



Léonce Byimana, MPH
Executive Director   

Colleen Daly, MA Executive Coordinator

Jennifer Isely, LICSW
Social Services Program Manager

Caitlin Tromiczak, LICSW-C
Health & Psych Wellness Program Manager

Andrea Barron, MA
Advocacy & Outreach Program Manager   

Cynthia Vanderpool Garcia, Esq. Legal Services Program Manager



Morgan Neibich-Gianni, MSW, LGSW
Clinical Case Manager   

Shanta Kingham, BSW
Clinical Case Manager

Semhar Stora, MSW, LGSW Clinical Case Manager

Tracy Belle, MA, LPC
Therapist & Forensic Psych Evaluator

Michelle Stilwell, Esq.
Staff Attorney

Mireille Makambo, MPA
Career Development Coordinator 



Sr. Denise Curry, MA
Employment Specialist   

JoAnn Goedert, Esq. 
Pro Bono Coordinator




Our Board

Our Board is comprised of survivors and lifelong human rights activists committed to abolishing torture and supporting survivors throughout the world. In our pursuit to remain survivor-led, the Board is both elected by and comprised of over 50%  survivors.


Janice Christensen

Michael Gul, PhD
Vice Chair  

Anthony Ibeagha

Sarah Clark


Elshafei Dafalla, MFA

Pat Davis

Ibrahim Jatenie

Nancy Bothne, PhD

Munawar "Sufi" Laghari

Asfaw Adane